Storage Auctions

Ebay items from storage lockers

Ebay items from storage lockers
« on: January 28, 2012, 04:02:23 PM »
I have been selling on eBay for a few years now. Most of my items come from garage sales, resale stores, etc. So I know what I paid and what I need to get out of something for profit.

Here's my question. What is the best way to list things from a locker? I was pretty lucky to find some vintage things that are valuable, but what about the ones that my not be? I can't just throw it out or donate it, because even at a buck or two, its better than nothing. For instance, I have 2 small tackle boxes that are like brand new. Im thinking at $5 a piece I can move them on eBay. But I am hesitant to start listings at 99 cents. If it sells for that, I am in the hole by the time fees come out. 

How many of you do the auctions vs buy it now? What is everyone's thoughts on this? I can't have a garage sale now (winter with snow here) and flea markets are pretty much the same til spring.

Re: Ebay items from storage lockers
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 05:32:54 PM »
I try and use up all of my 50 free listings a month.  Either with new items, or re-list.  Now for storage unit items I just try and stay competative.  I mostly use flat rate shipping by USPS.  If item is to big or bulky I box it, weigh it, and let person bidding do the calculation.  I give them priority mail or normal mail options.

I mostly only sell items worth $5 or more.  Only during the last week or free listing days will I post under $5 items.  I try to keep pictures of everything handy.  I do all my digging at home.  So as I search boxes, etc. I'll take a picture of any item I want to research or post on ebay.

Offline Cobia

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2012, 08:29:37 AM »
I have been selling on eBay for a few years now. Most of my items come from garage sales, resale stores, etc. So I know what I paid and what I need to get out of something for profit.