Storage Auctions

Question about finding local storage auctions

Question about finding local storage auctions
« on: September 19, 2011, 06:07:17 PM »
Noob here. Just started seriously looking into the local storage unit auctions near me. I live in Eastern PA, pretty much on the border of NJ. Kinda in between the Poconos and Allentown if anybody is familiar with either of those areas.

I just posted in the new members section so I didn't want to start posting in the wrong sections, but basically I can't seem to find a list of upcoming storage auctions near where I live ANYWHERE!? Anybody know of a master list or something for my area, or a great wesbite that updates upcoming auctions for the Eastern PA/NJ area? I realize the nature of he business is somewhat secretive, but any help would be really really appreciated.

Re: Question about finding local storage auctions
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 07:22:09 PM »
No real secret to it.  You need to check the legal section of every paper you can think of in your area daily.  Most of the ads are only posted for one or two days (example: Sep. 01, 8, 2011 Adv. # 15233002).  If there are 2 papers that cover your area check both.  You don't have to be a member of the paper to check the legal section on the online version for most if not all.

Also, some states have a "legal papers" repository online that many papers send notices in to.  However, it's mostly voluntary so while the GA one is great for Atlanta and such it stinks for my area.

Other two ways to get info for your area.  Check out all the auctionneer websites for the area.  If you have any major storage chains sign up for their email list.

But remember you need to check daily.  Once you start to build a database you will learn most places hold auctions on the same timeframe each month.  Like the second thursday of each month is a 7 facility caravan, and the 3rd monday of each month is a 3 facility one in my area.