Storage Auctions

refinishing furniture

refinishing furniture
« on: October 31, 2011, 12:57:58 AM »
When is it a good idea, like what value should something have to put money into it.
And what does it range to do that? Say like a nice dining table.

Re: refinishing furniture
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 08:57:23 AM »
To expand on this, people who do it regularly, could you give a 'step by step' proccess? I have a cheap kitchen table right now, that if in good condition, could possibly fetch 40 or 50 bucks. It has what looks like cat scratches all over it, and im wondering if my only option is to sand/gloss/re-paint, or if I could just use spray paint to cover it up and have it look decent enough to sell.

I have no experience refinishing furniture, so any advice would be helpful. To bigbizz I'm sure as well.

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 09:59:42 AM »
Word. I gave away a 500 $ dining table to goodwill cus i scratched ot while moving it.
But woulda been good to have gotten it refinished if i had more info on it

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2011, 06:49:39 PM »
I'm currently in possesion of a Huntley Furniture desk.  These things can sell for $400 and up restored but this thing is scratched and chipped.  The desk itself is in great condition, just needs a little TLC to make it 'good as new'.

Been pondering what I should do with it, sell it as is for 50 bucks or go the extra mile, fix it up and sell it for its true value. 

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2011, 03:26:25 PM »
Refinishing a table, chair, or such is more time intensive then money.  Many times just removing the old paint and putting a new varnish on the item will make it look better.  I have a older drop-leaf table currently that has a buildup of green tarnish or something in one of the joints.  Just going to take some furniture cleaner and polish to it.  Will try and remember to do before / after shots.

Depending on what you are doing the tools you need are:
paint remover
stain
brushes
drop cloth