Storage Auctions

Walking away from a unit

Offline Travis

• Every storage unit he buys yields treasure.
    • View Profile
    • AuctionsTX.com
    • Email
Walking away from a unit
« on: November 10, 2013, 03:53:25 AM »
Have you eve bought a unit that wasn't what you expected? Maybe it was too much work or not worth investing any more time in. If so, did you leave the unit behind?

Re: Walking away from a unit
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 07:48:20 AM »
I did it once.  It turned out to be years of trash, rats, mice and nasty crap.  I didn't feel bad because it was staged to cover up the crap.  If they cut the lock and it is unstaged it would be a different story, but this place already had them open.

Offline Travis

• View Profile
    • AuctionsTX.com
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2013, 10:44:14 AM »
When I was a newbie, the fourth locker I bought turned out to be one of those that looked good from the door but everything behind the first two feet was total trash. I went through everything and could barely see my money back. When I considered transportation costs, time involved to move everything and dump fees, I just walked away. Luckily I didn't get banned. I felt bad every time I went back to their auctions. I was always worried that the manager was going to recognize me. Oh well, newbie mistake. I've never left a unit behind since then.

Offline alloro

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2013, 10:53:56 AM »
Nope, never walked away from one. You buy it and it's yours, walking away is the same as reneging on a contract. I highly value my word when I give it.

« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2013, 06:24:30 PM »
I never walked away. But some of you may remember the unit I bought that was a band rehearsal space. There was framing inside the unit, insulation, rugs nailed to the framing.. I ended up making about $100 on the unit, but definitely not worth the demo and removal of raw goods.

« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2013, 08:02:10 PM »