Storage Auctions

Curious about the world of storage auctions . . .

Offline sb8

Curious about the world of storage auctions . . .
« on: February 06, 2012, 10:29:00 AM »
So, I first came into the idea of storage auctions through Storage Wars (no surprise there) and have been interested in it since then. I was also interested in knowing if it exists around Pittsburgh, where I live, and it appears that it does. So, as I'm a college student in journalism, I needed to come up with some idea for an article, and I thought it would be interesting to look at storage auctions and to see if the reality shows have changed the way this works. So if any of you experienced auction hunters would want to talk about that stuff, that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Curious about the world of storage auctions . . .
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 12:48:48 PM »
Welcome sb8 to the boards.  To answer you questions "YES it has changed things".  To further answer your question I suggest you go get some food, a few cokes and/or red bull, hit the restroom and start reading all the different threads for the next several hours.  You can especially find how things have changed by reading the monthly "Looky Loo's" threads from 2011 down in the general section.

Attend some of the storage auctions in your area.  Unless the facilitiy cancels an auction the snow, cold, whatever the weather is up your way will not keep the hunters away.  If you yell "YUUUUPPP" don't be surprised if someone slaps you upside the head however ;)

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 08:03:25 AM »
Gotta agree with craiglst~There are as many stories here as there are pieces of unwashed laundry in a typical unit!

Some ideas for your article(s):
The real side of storage auction buying~show how the business really is.  You know, dirty, grimy and not glamorous in any way, shape or form.