Storage Auctions

How do you know a unit has not been "Pre-Picked" by Management

How do you know a unit has not been "Pre-Picked" by Management
« on: December 28, 2010, 11:18:52 PM »
When bidding on a unit that is supposedly "freshly opened" how do you know that the management did not go through the unit prior to auction day and snag anything that may have been valuable? Would you have any way of knowing that you are not just bidding on the leftovers from other units stacked into 1 "new" unit and put up for auction?

Offline Drew

• Admin
    • View Profile
    • Online Storage Auctions
Re: How do you know a unit has not been "Pre-Picked" by Management
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2010, 07:35:22 AM »
I would try talking with some auction vets in that area they should be able to tell you which facilities seem shady

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 09:29:33 AM »
I am a newbie as well but, look for disturbed dust, that could be a tell tale sign.

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 01:14:27 PM »
Well here in WA it would be considered stealing since the contents belong to the renter until sold at auction. Not to say it does not happen but I suspect it more likely the unit will be posed as in the best stuff will be showing.

« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2011, 03:34:06 AM »
Don't they have to leave the owners lock on the unit until the auction begins and then cut the owners lock? If there is a lock in addition to the storage companies lock that should tell the story. Of course, they could always cut the owners lock, get what they want, replace the owners lock with a new cheap one and then add the storage units lock also. So I'd say look for a couple things.......

1. two locks (one the owners one the storage companies)
2. disturbed "struff" dust out of place or wiped off something
3. boxes that are mostly opened and appear to be rummaged thru (as most people close and tape their storage boxes when putting them in the units.

Anyone have any other ideas?