Storage Auctions

How many show up vs how many buy

How many show up vs how many buy
« on: November 16, 2011, 12:41:09 AM »
i'm new to auctions never been to one yet i live in a semi rural area. i was just wondering how many show up to auction vs how many buy.

Re: How many show up vs how many buy
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 06:44:13 AM »
Well you can only have 1 buyer per unit......

Smart remark aside - in my area we are getting good 2x to 3x people vs bidders.  May only have 12 of us bidding but 40+ people looking.  It can get frustrating as an auction that should only take 30 - 40 mins takes 2 hours will all the people just looking.  Course I prefer looky-loos vs more bidders.

Offline MovieMan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, 09:34:09 AM »
Go to one (or more) and find out. It will be a nice outing from your rural area.

Needless to say there are almost always 2 to 5 times as many people as there are lockers available, and of those people maybe only 1 in 5 will bid at all, hence the name "lookey-loos".

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2011, 05:46:32 PM »
I'd say 60% don't bid.

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2011, 11:27:33 PM »
thanks guys. sorry if i ask stupid questions lol like i said im new. im probably gonna go to my first auction at the end of the month. i called a local place and they have one on the 30 but it also saw the same place on auctionzip so there my be many people there.

Offline alloro

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2011, 01:04:00 AM »
The Lookie Loos that irritate me are the ones that bring the young kids with them, especially in strollers. Not older kids, I mean like the 1-6 year olds that don't understand what's going on and you've got 100 people trying to fit in the hallways to view the unit up for auction. This is business, not a family outing.

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2011, 02:21:55 AM »