Storage Auctions

The Future of Storage Auctions Has NOT arrived; online auctions will not prevail

Offline alloro

• View Profile
I have little knowledge about cars and no interest in buying and selling them.

Part it out and save all of those headaches you mentioned. Parting it out generally yields more profit than selling it as a whole anyway. As to whether or not it has an engine, just look at the spacing from the top of the tire to the fender. If there is no engine, hence no weight, there will be a significantly larger gap above the front tires versus the rear tires.

Offline MovieMan

• View Profile
But you are correct the picture dont show inside but do show speedometer and to me they are hiding something and when I called they would not answer about the interior.

Yep, doesn't show under the hood, doesn't show the interior...except for the odometer. I think it had to be a conscious choice not to show the dash, seats, etc. That certainly is EDITING (staging) for effect.

And if it was simply a mistake not showing the interior or under the hood, what does that say about the competency of the auctioneers.

In my area they let us walk in to the unit, walk around the car, open it if unlocked, open the hood and the trunk. Try that on an online auction. Can't be done, especially if they don't show pics which to my way of thinking would be obvious choices to make....UNLESS it would reduce the $ amounts that would be bid !  ;D

Edit:

Forgot to mention that unlike the regular box lockers we buy, in my area if you can go inside and really look at a car, you can certainly TOUCH it. That would answer the question about what the surface of the car in question here is like.

Offline alloro

• View Profile
Its just a Vette that was stored for 30 years... Nothing collectable about it.

I beg to differ, if it's been is storage for 30 years and not out on the road being driven. Collectors go crazy for low mileage vehicles with original motors, transmissions, rear axles, etc.