Storage Auctions

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - GeorgiaCarolyn

Pages: [1]
Laws about Storage Auctions / Florida Self Storage Auction Laws
« on: January 04, 2012, 09:09:28 AM »
Here is a link to the laws regarding self storage auctions in Florida:

The short of the current law is:
After 5 days of non payment the storage facility may deny the renter access to their unit.
After not receiving payment the facility must issue a certified letter announcing to the owner that the unit will be up for sale if they do not pay within 14 days.
After those 14 days the facility must advertise for two consecutive weeks the upcoming sale of that unit in a local newspaper. They must include a brief description of the contents, the name of tenant and location in their advertisement.
If there is no newspaper in the local area the facility must post notices in three places near the facility at least 10 days before the auction.
After 15 days of the notice being placed in the paper the unit may be put up for auction. (this is 29 days after the owner has received notice)

The buyer takes ownership of the property on good faith, however you do not take control of any items that have a lien against them. (so if the original owner has a lien against their car and you find the car it's not actually yours)

That's my understanding of the law, but I'm not a lawyer, if you live in FL. you should probably read the actual law before you get into the game.

New to Storage Auctions? / How do YOU scan price a unit?
« on: December 31, 2011, 08:53:22 PM »
I'd just like to get an idea of what everybody scan prices a unit for. I know things vary a lot depending on where you live, what you can move ect. but just throw some numbers at me. This is the price you'd be willing to pay for the locker, not what you think you could get for it.
For example:
Misc. boxes: $2 per box
Mattreses: $10 per mattress
Furniture: $10 per piece
Washer or Drier: $15

and anything else one typically finds in a unit.

Pages: [1]