Storage Auctions

Aukward Experience

Aukward Experience
« on: January 28, 2011, 10:01:31 AM »
I went to an auction yesterday and had the most aukward thing happen to me, I'm new to the game so this might happen more times then not but this lady was going around crying and begging people if they won her unit to please let her take her kids clothes out. It was sad, but what do you guys say if you have someone like that?

Re: Aukward Experience
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 10:20:57 AM »
Most of the auctions I have attended specifically do not allow the renter or any family member on the property when the auction is going on. Sounds like someone may have been trying to scam you.......

Offline MovieMan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2011, 03:46:22 PM »
It varies from site to site, but I have been at auctions where the former owner IS allowed in. Depends on the mgr and how the former owner addresses the issue.

Sometimes they will even be allowed to bid on their old locker. Usually though, that is not the case. Sometimes they will get friends to bid on it for them.

I doubt it was a scam issue, but anything is possible.
I have actually sold back entire units to former owners and I have also sold back specific items.

Once I bought the paperwork and computers of a mortgage broker company. The boxes were clearly labled on the outside as to the year of the documents. Since those papers contain all kinds of info on loan applicants it was a simple matter to get the old owner to BUY BACK the sensitive paper. The biz was still in business and  just got sloppy with their storage.

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2011, 06:34:09 PM »
Hi,