Storage Auctions

Update on auction caravan #1

Offline Jesterc333

• Up root yourself so you can gain some perspective.
    • View Profile
Update on auction caravan #1
« on: July 25, 2012, 11:04:23 AM »
Well I have no comparison when it comes to declining quality in the units but I saw more garbage, particle board furniture and mattresses than i have seen at the dump and i used to be a bulk trash driver for waste management.

The day started at 9am first facility only had one locker a 10x15 with 10 mattresses, a wooden king sleigh bed, 2 sets of metal frame bunk beds and about 35 neatly stacked 2'x2' grocery store boxes. Went for $750 I didn't even offer a bid.

The next two facilities cancelled. The day before each had 12 lockers up for auction, but by that morning all had called or come in to pay. (bummer) That's 24 lockers less than I thought I would see...

The fourth facility had ten lockers for auction. The first three were all the same owner. All 5x10's. First had a mattress jammed in sideways so no-one could see anything but a piss stained mattress. Went for $350? Second had a big china hutch with no drawers and some other things wrapped in synthetic blend blankets. Went for $180. And the third had a lot of stacked professional movers boxes with guess what, the drawers to the hutch from last locker. ;) I knew just what to do. He of course bid very low started at $50. I shot a $150 out and then he definitely knew i was there. We shared one understanding nod, he followed with a $160 and i waived off. I'm new at storage auctions but I'm not a sucker.