Storage Auctions

IM STILL A NEWBIE BUT I HAVE A GOOD SUGGESTION FOR EVERYONE-

Offline johnnyghonda

• On the hunt.
    • View Profile
    • Email
So I went to an auctioneer's caravan of facilities this morning until noon--- 21 units! 
1st facility(uncle bob's SS) had about 50 people (no kidding) and crap went for 275+++ ugh.  supposed to have 6 units- 3 paid up.

2nd facility(uncle bob's SS) supposed to have 9 units, 4 doors were cut open and every one went for 300+!!!! WTF... i decided to hold onto my 400 and save it for a much smaller crowd--- figured the reason for the crowds is they search storage auctions online and get our local autioneers website which lists their upcoming caravans- sign up and get emails of upcoming auctions=tons of people=overpriced lockers.  believe me- today's lockers were not that impressive. 

HERES THE TIP- IF YOU WANT INEXPENSIVE UNITS, GO OLD SCHOOL SEARCHING FOR STORAGE FACILITIES THAT DON'T USE AUCTIONEERS (PUBLIC SELF STORAGE, the big orange P, uses their district managers to caravan once a month and handle the bidding wars=boring bidding not trying to skyrocket the price for a cut of the profits=more money you and i save!) 

A note about our local auctioneers that irritate me- they make us form a line and after only 10 or so people see the locker she starts the bidding at 100.00!   its usually up to 225 by the time everyone sees it...  anyone else have any thoughts or ideas--???

Re: IM STILL A NEWBIE BUT I HAVE A GOOD SUGGESTION FOR EVERYONE-
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2011, 06:23:04 AM »
They probably start the unit off at 100 but if noone hits then they might have to go down.

Offline jrossjr79

• In it to Win it
    • MSN Messenger - jrossmakesmoney@gmail.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 12:52:58 PM »