Storage Auctions

Got a unit on Friday

Offline MovieMan

• View Profile
Re: Got a unit on Friday
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2011, 10:56:11 AM »
Anyone on here have trouble moving higher end furniture/items?  My dilemma is, do I hold out for a high price, or sell it at a quick price?  I have the couch/love seat on CList for $800.  In the 10 lockers I have bought, none of them had higher end items, so I guess I'm new to this aspect of the biz.

There are several people on the forum (and in my area) who would advise you to sell the items cheaper to clear the inventory and make room for more. Usually, these are folks who buy a dozen a month (or even a week) and who NEED to clear up room on a regular basis.

I think you have the answer already and just need confirmation. Considering the lack of room and the price you paid for the lkr, selling a little cheaper seems like the right idea. I don't know how you have grouped the furniture at the 800 level, but if you have several groupings you could reduce the price on one and see how quickly it went, and then follow suit on the other groups or not.

Basically, with the quality and quantity you got, you have some options. Only you can decide how much you need out of the items and the working space you have.

Offline ZoSo

« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2011, 12:21:10 PM »
Thanks for the rational response Movieman.  I'm also asking the question for potential future complications.  Once the school year ends I plan on trying this full time over the summer instead of teaching summer school as I have in years past.  I'm counting down the days until freedom from middle school kids.  It's nice to have resources and people with more experience provide insight into the grind that this profession employs.  My plan, subject to change, is to attempt to get a unit a week this summer, so I will need to know the tricks and insight to rollover inventory quickly without cutting my profits short. 

Offline ZoSo