Storage Auctions

small cabinet

small cabinet
« on: June 20, 2011, 09:00:19 PM »
Can anyone tell me if this could have any value at all? It was in a unit with other furniture, and I have no idea as to if it could be a valuable antique, or just another night stand. I'm also considering taking it to an antique appraiser to have them check it out.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline jrossjr79

• In it to Win it
    • MSN Messenger - jrossmakesmoney@gmail.com
    • View Profile
Re: small cabinet
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2011, 12:00:48 AM »
I cant say for sure what the year or even the make is for your piece. But it is a lovely piece, I would say its a Vintage piece, but do not take my word for it, I am no expert in old furniture. Take it to a trustworthy antique shop see if you cant get some idea on the history of your piece.

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2011, 08:43:04 AM »
Everything has some kind of value. How much the value is, is hard to say.
I would find out more about the piece, history, age, maker, etc.
Only then can you have the right value put on  it.

But as a rule of thumb, everything has a value until proven othervise.

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2011, 10:05:15 AM »
Mr. A. is correct all hings have value. You show a picture of the piece but don't describe it. Depending on the answers to my questions below the value either goes up or down.

1. What's it made of? Hard wood and what kind, Plywood, Partical Board
2. Veneered or finished (stained or natural)
3. Corners, are they dovetailed or rabbitted?
4. Hand cut dovetails or machine cut.
5. Any screws and fasteners? What kind? Phillips screws or straight? Nails or Staples?

Best value would be as follows:
1. Hardwood
2. Finished
3. Dovetails
4. Handcut
5.Screws (straight head)

These are all signs of an older piece that is hand made. Of course any tags or markings help to identify it also.