Storage Auctions

Business Info Needed

Business Info Needed
« on: October 11, 2011, 11:40:05 PM »
A friend of mine that owns a tax service asked me if I have a business license and if I’m keeping track of everything I buy and sell.

I am keeping track but I haven’t really had intentions of turning this into a legit business.
Has anyone heard that it’s necessary? I have a job and I’m a student so in my mind this was just a fun way to make some extra money.

She said that if you make more than $600 in a year the IRS requires a business license. I guess the storage place reports the auction winners and eBay reports their sales so there is a paper trail of the purchase and sale of each item.

I asked her about deductions and she said all these things are deductible plus more.
1) Cellular telephone bills and a portion of a land-line if applicable
2) Vehicle Gas, repairs and interest on car loan OR mileage.  This one requires greater explanation but mileage is usually better.
3) A portion of your rent and household utilities.
4) Bank Charges.
5) Internet Service.
6) Newspapers & any other advertisement purchase source to locate storage units or auctions.
7) Clothing attributed to this business,  gloves, jeans, t-shirts, etc.
8) Shipping, Freight & postage fees
9) Packing & shipping materials
10) Office supplies

Do you guys have business licenses? Do you think is it something I need to consider?

Offline jrossjr79

• In it to Win it
    • MSN Messenger - jrossmakesmoney@gmail.com
    • View Profile
Re: Business Info Needed
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 12:07:12 AM »
At this moment in time I do not have a business license myself. Although I do plan on taking care of that. And I do not know the legalities of it.

As far as the storage facilities reporting it. No way of proving it was you. With all the places I been, only one place has ever asked to get a copy of my Drivers License, and none has ever asked for my SSN.