Storage Auctions

Handbag Authentication

Handbag Authentication
« on: November 14, 2011, 11:38:19 PM »
Does anyone have a good source for determining the authenticity of designer handbags?

I may have found a near-endless source of second-hand designer bags, but if 90% of them are counterfeit, then it doesn't help me.

Any suggestions out there?

Re: Handbag Authentication
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 07:31:41 AM »
Your best bet is to study the details of each bag.  Hit your major retail stores and look at the label, stitching, etc.  If you can take pictures and then compare that to your bags.

Or find someone that sales bags and is sort of an expert.  I know that I have ZERO knowledge in it.  I was just stacking purses and other bags in a pile when my wife pulled 2 out and was like, these are so and so purses.  I was like OK....and?

Only purse I know is Vera Bradley due to the amount of money my wife has spent buying them.

Offline jrossjr79

• In it to Win it
    • MSN Messenger - jrossmakesmoney@gmail.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2011, 07:54:37 AM »
You should be able to research different bags online. Or maybe a female you know that is close to you can help out. I am not much for one on determining if a purse is a real deal or knockoff. However my wife can spot a fake a mile away, lol.

I know Coach and Louis Vuitton have a serial number labeled somewhere on the bag, usually inside the purse itself. Most knock offs do not have this number. And the ones that do you can still tell by checking it online to verify it being the real deal.

Offline Millertime

• I Love Capitalism
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2011, 10:17:13 AM »
Had a Louis V knockoff and the women I showed it to called it right off. Women's intuition - don't fight it fellas.

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2011, 05:50:56 PM »
Take it to a consignment shop.Most can tell right away.

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2011, 08:15:11 PM »