Storage Auctions

Howdy from Northeast Texas

Howdy from Northeast Texas
« on: June 02, 2011, 02:29:51 PM »
Hi everyone.  Not only am I new to the forum, but I am brand new to storage auctions.

I live in Mt. Vernon, TX.  It is about 100 miles east of Dallas.  If you have ever been to BFE, keep driving about 20 more miles and you will see my mailbox.

I signed up last night, and have put in at least 8 to 10 hours of reading time on the boards.  Drew just approved my account, so I am ready to get on the ball and learn all I can from you guys.

There is a lot of excellent information I have seen so far.  Because of one of the posts, I have already started compiling a call list of local storage units within a 50 mile radius.  I think I am up to 49, and that is with just a couple of small phone books.  I know there are a lot more, I just have to hit google up for the answers.

I was going to hit one of two auctions in Greenville, TX today.  I saw them on freeauctionlists.blogspot.com.  I would have made it, but I finished reading this morning at 5:30am and woke up 30 minutes late.  Oh well, there will always be more.

Well, If you are wondering, My wife and I are wanting to get into the storage auction scene because I drive 18-wheeler full time locally, work my cb radio sales and repair shop part time out of my house, pick up autos to repair and sell, and finally do wooe burnt art.  I would like to eventually generate enough income between all of my small businesses to quit driving truck full time and be able to concentrate more on my cb radio shop.  

I am guilty of liking to watch Storage Wars.  Though it is not realistic, it is entertaining.  I actually had the idea of doing this when I had my pizza restaurant back in 2003.  I thought of doing it to make a little extra income.  Well, the pizza restaurant bit a chunk out of me and I never had the "extra" money to do it.  Now, I can afford to drop some here and there to get started.