Storage Auctions

[Update] First auctions on Wednesday!

[Update] First auctions on Wednesday!
« on: January 04, 2012, 06:15:41 PM »
So my friend and I are going to our first auctions on tuesday.

The both of us combined are going to have $1000 with us. I told him that we may not end up bidding or getting any units, and that it's good to just get a feel for them the first time, but if a unit catches our eye I think we are going to go for it. I'm preparing for people to bid like crazy and end up overpricing units, so i'm not getting my hopes up.

My goal as far as getting a unit is getting one that is undervalued. I'm going to look for a unit that has hidden value. Should be hard seeing as i'm a newbie but I think we have a good eye for things.

We agreed to get a PODS (Portable on Demand Storage) if needed to store the won contents. Also we should be able to find a truck to use if needed.

So we are going to have our locks, our money, and a plan. I'm going to establish a habit of setting a cap on bidding for units. Any other things we are missing or any advice you can give us?

Re: First auctions on Tuesday
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 06:35:41 PM »

My goal as far as getting a unit is getting one that is undervalued. I'm going to look for a unit that has hidden value. Should be hard seeing as i'm a newbie but I think we have a good eye for things.

No offense, but you just summed up the goal of every single person attending the auction.
It's not as easy as it looks.  One thing to remember is to not discuss (with your buddy or anybody else) what you've just seen.  Step back and discuss it away from the crowd.  So many newbies tend to blurt out "Oh look.....a shotgun!"  doh!!! :D

Good luck~

And stick to your cap!!!  I failed to do so at my last auction and overbid.  Oy did I lay a guilt trip on myself and talk about stressing out~yikes!  I'm over it now as I've recouped, but dang~ ::)

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 07:14:50 PM »