Storage Auctions

What items to look for?

Offline Henry

What items to look for?
« on: March 14, 2015, 05:33:48 PM »
I’ve been watching the storage auction shows on TV for some time.  I think I’m ready to give this a try.  What are some things I should look for when they open up the locker?  What items do you see that you always make you bid?

Offline Travis

• Every storage unit he buys yields treasure.
    • View Profile
    • AuctionsTX.com
    • Email
Re: What items to look for?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2015, 05:42:48 PM »
Everyone is different, but I like high end furniture, appliances or rooms with a theme.

Offline Henry

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2015, 07:04:24 PM »
That is a good point.  I’m going to buy a few lockers and see what happens.  I’ve never done anything like this before.  I’ve just seen it done on TV.

Offline MikeMilez

• Author: "Storage Auction Authority"
    • View Profile
    • MikeMilez.com
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 04:12:09 PM »
You want to look for stuff that you know will sell. This includes tools, modern appliances, quality furniture, etc. Steer clear of garbage. Despite what the show portrays, most garbage units are just that. And no, there is no bar of gold in that pile of trash.

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2015, 03:10:36 AM »
You should look out for features that often attract buyers like the good condition of the items, furniture pieces, electronics, automobiles, and anything sellable. If the storage unit gets opened up and all that you get to see are boxes and newspapers, you probably should not go for that one. However, what lies underneath the surface could sometimes surprise you.

Offline Travis

• View Profile
    • AuctionsTX.com
    • Email
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2017, 08:36:21 AM »